Canadian Astronaut David Saint-Jacques - Mission

David Saint-Jacques

In 2018, Canadian astronaut David Saint-Jacques will be launched aboard a Soyuz spacecraft to the International Space Station (ISS).

Launch scheduled for November 2018

Mission length: 6 months

More details to come this fall!

Social Media

Facebook Twitter Feed RSS YouTube Canadian Space Agency Video Gallery

Canadian astronaut David Saint-Jacques has been assigned to a six-month mission aboard the International Space Station (ISS). Mr. Saint-Jacques will launch aboard a Russian Soyuz rocket in November 2018 to join an international crew onboard the orbiting laboratory. Expedition 58/59 will be the first mission for David Saint-Jacques and will mark the 17th space flight for the Canadian Astronaut Corps. During his time in space, the astronaut will conduct a series of scientific experiments, robotics tasks and technology demonstrations, the details of which will be revealed later this year.

In addition to his extensive training, the Quebec native will bring his expertise in medicine, engineering and astrophysics to the Expedition 58/59 crew. In anticipation of this first assignment, David Saint-Jacques will begin specialized mission training in Russia, Japan, the United States and Canada starting this Summer and for the next two years until his launch.

Quote

"Today, I stand on the shoulders of all the astronauts who came before me. They inspired me—they were my role models. They sparked my curiosity about space and made me want to experience spaceflight for myself. Space exploration is the next step for humanity, and I am proud to be part of it. I would like to thank the Canadian Space Agency for giving me this incredible opportunity. I am humbled to represent Canada on this mission and promise to give it my very best."

- David Saint-Jacques, Canadian Space Agency Astronaut

Images of David Saint-Jacques

Image 1

Water Survival Training

Water survival training

Image 2

David Saint-Jacques ready for spacewalk training

Spacewalk training

Image 3

Canada from Space Giant Floor Map

Canada from Space Giant Floor Map unveiling

Image 4

CSA Astronaut David Saint-Jacques

Robotics familiarization session

Image 5

David Saint-Jacques' first NBL training

Spacewalk training

Image 6

David Saint-Jacques during an Aquarius laboratory training

Aquarius laboratory training

See all images of David Saint-Jacques

Mission de l'astronaute David Saint-Jacques

David Saint-Jacques

En 2018, l'astronaute canadien David Saint-Jacques s'envolera à bord d'un engin spatial Soyouz à destination de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS).

Lancement prévu : novembre 2018

Durée : 6 mois

Plus de détails disponibles cet automne!

Médias sociaux

Facebook Twitter Fils RSS YouTube Banque vidéos

L'astronaute canadien David Saint-Jacques sera affecté à une mission de six mois à bord de la Station spatiale internationale. M. Saint-Jacques s'envolera à bord d'une fusée Soyouz en novembre 2018 pour rejoindre l'équipage international du laboratoire orbital. La mission Expedition 58/59 sera la première mission de David Saint-Jacques et le 17e vol spatial d'un membre du corps des astronautes canadiens. Pendant son affectation dans l'espace, l'astronaute effectuera une série d'expériences scientifiques, de tâches de robotique et de démonstrations de technologie, dont les détails seront révélés dans le courant de l'année.

L'astronaute québécois a suivi un entrainement rigoureux et l'équipage d'Expedition 58/59 profitera de son expertise en médecine, génie et astrophysique. En prévision de cette première affectation, David Saint-Jacques commencera cet été un entrainement spécialisé de deux ans en Russie, au Japon, aux États-Unis et au Canada.

Citation

« Aujourd'hui, je marche dans les pas de tous les astronautes qui m'ont précédé. Ils ont été une source d'inspiration, de véritables modèles pour moi. Ils ont piqué ma curiosité au sujet de l'espace et ont suscité en moi le désir de faire l'expérience d'un vol spatial. L'exploration spatiale habitée est la prochaine aventure de l'humanité et je suis fier d'y contribuer. Je remercie l'Agence spatiale canadienne de m'offrir cette formidable occasion. C'est un honneur pour moi de représenter le Canada dans l'espace et je me dévouerai corps et âme à cette mission. »

- David Saint-Jacques, astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne

Images de David Saint-Jacques

Image 1

Formation de survie en mer

Formation de survie en mer.

Image 2

David Saint-Jacques prêt pour une formation de marche spatiale

Formation de marche spatiale.

Image 3

Carte géante Le Canada vu de l'espace

Dévoilement de la carte géante Le Canada vue de l'espace.

Image 4

L'astronaute de l'ASC David Saint-Jacques

Séance de familiarisation à la robotique.

Image 5

1re plongée au NBL de David Saint-Jacques

Formation de marche spatiale.

Image 6

David Saint-Jacques durant la formation dans le laboratoire Aquarius.

Formation dans le laboratoire Aquarius.

Voir toutes les images de David Saint-Jacques