Host a launch party!

Launch of the Soyuz rocket for Expedition 56/57

Credit: NASA/Bill Ingalls

About the activity

3… 2… 1… liftoff! Canadian astronaut David Saint-Jacques will depart for the International Space Station on at 6:31 am (ET). Join Canadians from coast to coast to coast to attend this historic event virtually.

Who can participate?

Canadians of all ages and regions are invited to organize a launch party at school, at home or somewhere else. Countdowns are more fun with a group of people!

How to participate

Go to the Canadian Space Agency's (CSA's) Facebook page or YouTube channel on , to watch the CSA's live coverage and the launch.

Canadian astronauts Robert Thirsk and Jenni Sidey-Gibbons will provide interesting commentary before and during the launch. You'll feel like you're there in person!

See the table below to find out the times for your province or territory.

Province/territory Start of live coverage Launch
Newfoundland 7:30 am (NT) 8:01 am (NT)
Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick 7:00 am (AT) 7:31 am (AT)
Quebec, Ontario, Nunavut (east) 6:00 am (ET) 6:31 am (ET)
Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Nunavut (centre) 5:00 am (CT) 5:31 am (CT)
Alberta, Northwest Territories, Nunavut (west) 4:00 am (MT) 4:31 am (MT)
British Columbia, Yukon 3:00 am (PT) 3:31 am (PT)

If you can't bring yourself to wake up that early (or stay up that late), don't worry! Even when it's all over, the video will be available on the CSA's Facebook page and YouTube channel.

You can share photos of your launch party on social media using the hashtag #DareToExplore.

Explore further

Date modified: