At Home in Space: Making the International Space Station feel like home

Earth from the International Space Station

The crew aboard the International Space Station (ISS) spends about six months away from family, friends and familiar surroundings. How do astronauts—and other people who work in extreme or isolated environments—cope with being far from home? (Credit: NASA)

At Home in Space, Canada's first psychosocial experiment on board the ISS, examines how multinational crews of astronauts adapt to living together in a shared—and often stressful—environment in space during long-duration missions. Dr. Phyllis J. Johnson of the University of British Columbia, principal investigator for the study, believes that astronauts develop a shared space culture as an adaptive strategy for handling cultural differences, and that together, astronauts create their own home in space. The research will also assess how meeting the challenges of the environment will affect such psychological characteristics as coping strategies, stress management, interpersonal and familial relationships, and personal values.

Astronaut Thomas Pesquet explains how crews cope with living in space

Credits: Canadian Space Agency, ESA, NASA

How the experiment works

Twelve astronauts will take part in the study, which requires them to fill out a questionnaire before, during and after their mission (they fill it out twice during their flight, preferably at a time when they are relaxed and have not had to conduct stressful tasks during the day, like a spacewalk). The questionnaire is designed to delve into individual and culturally related differences, family functioning, values, mechanisms for coping with stress, and also, how the astronauts grew from their experience after their flights. The participants also take pictures of their quarters to show how they customize their personal space, and to capture photos of celebrations taking place on the ISS.

Applications here on Earth

There are many communities on Earth that share some of the characteristics of a space capsule, and whose functioning could be improved by the findings of this experiment. One of these is the elderly, especially those in group housing: planned communities, assisted living centres or nursing homes, where residents are removed from their families and social circles, as well as from their former homes with their well-known layout, decor and mementos. Their living space is limited, as is their privacy, autonomy and control over their social and physical environment. Institutional residences for the elderly may be able to enhance the lives of their residents by learning more about how a group of people living together in a confined space can develop a common culture that enhances their bonding and morale, and how to make their unique environment feel more like home.

The findings will also apply to people living in remote, confined, and isolated environments (for instance, resource-extraction camps, oil rigs, long-voyage tankers, cargo ships, and communities in the Arctic and Antarctic), and to those whose employment is dangerous and requires periodic absences from family, like the military.

At Home in Space is led by Dr. Phyllis J. Johnson, University of British Columbia. Dr. Peter Suedfeld, University of British Columbia, is co-investigator for the study, which began in 2015 and is expected to be completed in 2019/2020. This research is funded and supported by the Canadian Space Agency.

Links of interest

At Home in Space : se sentir chez soi à la Station spatiale internationale

La Terre depuis la Station spatiale internationale

Les membres de l'équipage à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (SSI) passent environ six mois loin de leur famille et de leurs amis, dans un environnement qui ne leur est pas familier. Comment les astronautes, et les autres personnes qui travaillent dans des environnements extrêmes ou isolés, apprennent-ils à vivre loin de chez eux? (Source : NASA.)

At Home in Space, la première expérience psychosociale du Canada à bord de la SSI, vise à examiner comment les équipages multinationaux d'astronautes apprennent à vivre ensemble dans un environnement spatial partagé, souvent stressant, en mission de longue durée. Phyllis J. Johnson, Ph. D., de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, chercheuse principale de l'étude, croit que les astronautes développent une culture spatiale commune en tant que stratégie d'adaptation pour composer avec les différences culturelles, et qu'ensemble, ils se créent un chez-soi dans l'espace. L'étude évalue également comment les difficultés que présente l'environnement influent sur les caractéristiques psychologiques des astronautes, comme les stratégies d'adaptation, la gestion du stress, les relations familiales et interpersonnelles, et les valeurs personnelles.

L'astronaute Thomas Pesquet explique comment les équipages composent avec la vie dans l'espace

Sources : Agence spatiale canadienne, ESA, NASA.

Déroulement de l'expérience

Douze astronautes participent à l'étude, qui consiste à remplir un questionnaire avant, pendant et après la mission (ils le remplissent à deux reprises pendant la mission, de préférence lorsqu'ils sont décontractés et qu'ils n'ont pas eu à exécuter pendant la journée des tâches stressantes, comme une sortie dans l'espace). Le questionnaire est conçu pour explorer les différences individuelles et culturelles, le fonctionnement familial, les valeurs, les mécanismes de gestion du stress ainsi que la façon dont les astronautes sortent grandis de leur expérience. Les participants prennent également des photos de leur quartier dans la SSI, pour illustrer comment ils personnalisent leur espace, ainsi que des festivités qui ont lieu à bord.

Applications sur Terre

De nombreuses collectivités sur Terre ont en commun certaines des caractéristiques d'une capsule spatiale, et leur fonctionnement pourrait être amélioré par les constatations de cette expérience. On pense, par exemple, aux personnes âgées, surtout celles qui vivent dans des habitats collectifs, comme les collectivités de retraités, les résidences-services ou les maisons de repos, où les résidents vivent loin de leur famille et de leur cercle d'amis ainsi que de l'environnement familier de leur ancienne demeure. Leur espace vital est limité, tout comme leur vie privée, leur autonomie et leur pouvoir sur leur environnement social et physique. Les enseignements tirés de cette étude sur la façon dont des personnes confinées dans un même endroit arrivent à développer une culture commune qui renforce leurs liens et rehausse leur moral – et à faire de leur environnement unique un endroit où elles se sentent chez elles – pourraient aider les responsables des résidences pour aînés à améliorer la vie de leurs résidents.

Les constatations de l'étude pourront également s'appliquer aux gens qui vivent dans des environnements éloignés, confinés et isolés (p. ex. des camps d'extraction de ressources, des plateformes pétrolières, des pétroliers au long cours, des navires de marchandises et des collectivités de l'Arctique et de l'Antarctique) et aux personnes qui occupent un emploi dangereux qui exige de s'éloigner périodiquement de leur famille, comme les militaires.

L'étude At Home in Space est dirigée par Phyllis J. Johnson, Ph. D., de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Peter Suedfeld, Ph. D., de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique est cochercheur de l'étude, qui a commencé en 2015 et devrait prendre fin en 2019-2020. Cette étude est financée et soutenue par l'Agence spatiale canadienne.

Liens utiles