Image Gallery - Chris Hadfield on board the International Space Station

Photos list

Photo 1 - Launch of Expedition 34/35

2012-12-19 - The Soyuz TMA-07M rocket launches from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on December 19, 2012 carrying Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronaut Tom Marshburn and Soyuz Commander Roman Romanenko to the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photo 2 - Hadfield on his way to make history

2012-12-19 - The Soyuz TMA-07M rocket launches from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on December 19, 2012 carrying Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronaut Tom Marshburn and Soyuz Commander Roman Romanenko to the International Space Station (ISS). Their Soyuz TMA-07M rocket launched at 6:12 p.m. (Kazakhstan time). (Credit: NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photo 3 - Approach

2012-12-21 - The Soyuz TMA-07M, carrying Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield, cosmonaut Roman Romanenko and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronaut Tom Marshburn, approaches the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA)

Photo 4 - Welcome Aboard

2012-12-21 - Expedition 34 Commander Kevin Ford (right) of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) welcomes Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield and NASA astronaut Tom Marshburn aboard the International Space Station (ISS) on docking day. (Credit: NASA)

Photo 5 - A New Addition to the ISS

2012-12-21 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield's first day on the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA)

Photo 6 - Holiday Merry Making

2012-12-25 - Expedition 34 crew members assemble in the Unity node of the International Space Station (ISS) for a brief celebration of the Christmas holiday. Pictured clockwise (from top right) are the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronaut Kevin Ford, commander; Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield, Russian cosmonauts Evgeny Tarelkin and Roman Romanenko, NASA astronaut Tom Marshburn and Russian cosmonaut Oleg Novitskiy, all flight engineers. (Credit: NASA)

Photo 7 - Strumming

2012-12-25 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield strums his guitar in the International Space Station's Cupola. (Credit: NASA)

Photo 8 - The Canadian Flag in Orbit

2012-12-25 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield poses with the Canadian flag in the Cupola module of the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA)

Photo 9 - Fitness Evaluation

2012-12-31 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield performs a fitness evaluation on the Cycle Ergometer with Vibration Isolation System (CEVIS) in the Destiny laboratory of the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA)

Photo 10 -  The Microgravity Science Glovebox

2012-12-31 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield works on the Microgravity Science Glovebox (MSG) in the Destiny laboratory of the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA)

Photo 11 - Hadfield stores samples in the ISS Freezer

2013-01-07 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield inserts biological samples into the Minus Eighty Laboratory Freezer for ISS (MELFI-1) in the Kibo laboratory of the ISS. Russian cosmonaut Roman Romanenko is visible in the background. (Credit: NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photo 12 - ARED

2013-01-11 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield uses the Advanced Resistive Exercise Device (ARED) to exercise in the Tranquility node of the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA)

Photo 13 - Hadfield with the ISERV Telescope

2013-01-15 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield prepares to set up the International Space Station (ISS) SERVIR Environmental Research and Visualization System (ISERV) in the Destiny laboratory of the ISS. (Credit: NASA)

Photo 14 - Radi-N2

2013-01-18 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield points to a neutron bubble detector he deployed on the International Space Station (ISS) for the Canadian experiment Radi-N2. (Credit: NASA)

Photo 15 - Hadfield with Radi-N2

2013-01-18 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield poses with the neutron bubble detectors that he deployed on the International Space Station (ISS) for the Canadian experiment Radi-N2. (Credit: NASA)

Photo 16 - Through the Looking Bubble

2013-01-21 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield's image is refracted through a free-floating bubble in the Unity node of the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA)

Photo 17 - Eye Exam on the ISS

2013-01-21 - The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronaut Tom Marshburn (right) performs a Tonometry eye exam on Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield in the Columbus laboratory of the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA)

Photo 18 - Hadfield works with Biolab

2013-02-20 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield performs routine maintenance on Biolab in the Columbus Module aboard the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA)

Photo 19 - Hadfield at the controls of Canadarm2

2013-02-25 - Inside the Cupola of the International Space Station (ISS), Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield sits in for a refresher session at the controls of Canadarm2. The robotic arm was used to capture SpaceX's Dragon on March 3, 2013. (Credit: NASA)

Photo 20 - Hadfield unpacks Microflow

2013-03-07 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield unpacks the Canadian experiment Microflow, a blood and bio-fluid sample analysis tool. (Credit: CSA/NASA)

Photo 21 - St. Patty's Day in Space

2013-03-16 - Expedition 35 Commander Chris Hadfield celebrated St. Patrick's Day with panache on board the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: Canadian Space Agency/NASA)

Photo 22 - To Release a Dragon

2013-03-26 - Bathed in light from the Sun, Canadarm2 securely guides the SpaceX Dragon-2 away from the International Space Station (ISS) to be released. The Dragon landed later in the day in the Pacific Ocean off the coast of California. (Credit: NASA)

Photo 23 - Orange in Space

2013-03-30 - After the Soyuz TMA-08M spacecraft delivered cargo to Expedition 35, Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield got the chance to dig into a fresh blood red orange, a rare occasion while in orbit. (Credit: CSA/NASA)

Photo 24 - Expedition 35 in Kibo

2013-04-06 - The Expedition 35 crew members gather in the Kibo laboratory aboard the International Space Station (ISS). In front from left to right is Russian cosmonaut Pavel Vinogradov, Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield and Russian cosmonaut Alexander Misurkin. Behind them are the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronauts Tom Marshburn, Chris Cassidy and cosmonaut Roman Romanenko. (Credit: NASA)

Photo 25 - Chris Hadfield performs BP Reg

2013-04-17 - Expedition 35 Commander Chris Hadfield performs the first session of the Canadian BP Reg experiment. Setting up the Human Research Facility (HRF) PFS (Pulmonary Function System) and donning the European Physiology Module (EPM) Cardiolab (CDL) Leg/Arm Cuff System (LACS), Hadfield was the first of several astronauts to take part in this experiment. (Credit: Canadian Space Agency/NASA)

Photo 26 - The Crew Together

2013-04-21 - Rarely captured in photos, the entire crew of Expedition 35 gather in the Unity node of the International Space Station (ISS). Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut and Expedition 35 Commander is at right. Clockwise from him are the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronauts Tom Marshburn and Chris Cassidy, and Russian cosmonauts Alexander Misurkin, Roman Romanenko and Pavel Vinogradov. (Credit: NASA)

Photo 27 - Space Plumber

2013-04-23 - Hadfield replaces a low-temperature cooling valve in the Columbus laboratory of the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: Canadian Space Agency/NASA)

Photo 28 - Expedition Decals

2013-05-13 - As part of an International Space Station (ISS) tradition, following a change of command and prior to crew departure the crew place their mission decals one next to another in the Unity module. Commander Pavel Vinogradov places his Expedition 36 decal next to Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield's Expedition 35 decal, the mission in which Hadfield became the first Canadian Commander of the ISS. (Credit: CSA/NASA)

Photo 29 - Chutes Deployed

2013-05-14 - The chutes of the Soyuz TMA-07M, carrying Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronaut Tom Marshburn and cosmonaut Roman Romanenko, are deployed  for landing over the steppe of Kazakhstan. (Credit: NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photo 30 - Touchdown

2013-05-14 - The Soyuz TMA-07M spacecraft lands with Expedition 35 Commander Chris Hadfield of the Canadian Space Agency (CSA), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronaut Tom Marshburn and Soyuz Commander Roman Romanenko of Roscosmos aboard in a remote area near the town of Dzhezkazgan, Kazakhstan. (Credit: NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photo 31 - Moments after Landing

2013-05-14 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut and Expedition 35 Commander Chris Hadfield sits next to cosmonaut Roman Romanenko and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronaut Tom Marshburn soon after being pulled out of their scorched Soyuz capsule outside the town of Dzhezkazgan, Kazakhstan. The three men had returned after a five-month mission on board the International Space Station (ISS). (Credit: NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photos - Chris Hadfield à bord de la Station spatiale internationale

Liste des photos

Photo 1 - Lancement de la mission Expedition 34/35

2012-12-19 - La fusée Soyouz TMA-07M décolle du Cosmodrome de Baïkonour, au Kazakhstan, le 19 décembre 2012, en direction de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). Elle emporte à son bord l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield, l'astronaute de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Tom Marshburn et le cosmonaute russe et commandant du véhicule Soyouz Roman Romanenko. (Source : NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photo 2 - Chris Hadfield en route pour tourner une nouvelle page d'histoire

2012-12-19 - La fusée Soyouz TMA-07M s'envole du Cosmodrome de Baïkonour, au Kazakhstan, le 19 décembre 2012, en direction de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). Elle emporte à son bord l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield, l'astronaute de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Tom Marshburn et le cosmonaute russe et commandant du véhicule Soyouz Roman Romanenko. Leur fusée Soyouz TMA-07M a décollé à 18 h 12 (heure du Kazakhstan). (Source : NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photo 3 - Le Soyouz en approche de la station spatiale

2012-12-21 - Le véhicule Soyouz TMA-07M transportant l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield, le cosmonaute Roman Romanenko et l'astronaute de la NASA Tom Marshburn, approche de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA)

Photo 4 - Chris Hadfield accueilli à bord de la station spatiale

2012-12-21 - Kevin Ford, astronaute de la NASA et commandant de la mission Expedition 34 (à droite), accueille les astronautes Chris Hadfield et Tom Marshburn à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS), le jour de leur amarrage. (Source : NASA)

Photo 5 - Une nouvelle recrue pour la station spatiale

2012-12-21 - Premier jour de l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA)

Photo 6 - Les Fêtes à bord de la station spatiale

2012-12-25 - Les membres d'équipage de la mission Expedition 34 se rassemblent dans le module Unity de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS) pour célébrer Noël. De haut en bas, dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre : l'astronaute de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) et commandant Kevin Ford, l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield, les cosmonautes russes Evgeny Tarelkin et Roman Romanenko, l'astronaute de la NASA Tom Marshburn et le cosmonaute russe Oleg Novitskiy, tous ingénieurs de vol. (Source : NASA)

Photo 7 - Chris Hadfield grattant sa guitare

2012-12-25 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield en train de jouer de la guitare dans la coupole d'observation de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA)

Photo 8 - Le drapeau canadien en orbite

2012-12-25 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield et le drapeau canadien, dans la coupole de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA)

Photo 9 - Test de condition physique

2012-12-31 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield évalue sa condition physique sur l'ergocycle CEVIS (Cycle Ergometer with Vibration Isolation System) dans le laboratoire Destiny de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA)

Photo 10 - « Boîte à gants » pour la recherche en microgravité

2012-12-31 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield à l'œuvre sur la boîte à gants pour la recherche en microgravité située dans le laboratoire Destiny de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA)

Photo 11 - Chris Hadfield entrepose des échantillons dans le congélateur de l'ISS

2013-01-07 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield introduit des échantillons biologiques dans le congélateur de laboratoire à -80° C  de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS) (MELFI-1) localisé dans le laboratoire japonais Kibo de l'ISS. Le cosmonaute russe Roman Romanenko apparaît en arrière-plan. (Source : NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photo 12 - L'appareil d'exercice contre résistance ARED

2013-01-11 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield s'entraîne sur l'appareil d'exercice contre résistance ARED (Advanced Resistive Exercise Device) dans le noeud Tranquility de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA)

Photo 13 - Chris Hadfield et le télescope SERVIR

2013-01-15 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield s'apprête à installer le système SERVIR de recherche environnementale et de visualisation de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS) dans le laboratoire Destiny de la station. (Source : NASA)

Photo 14 - Mesurer les radiations grâce à une expérience canadienne

2013-01-18 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield nous montre un des dosimètres à bulles qu'il a déployés à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). Cet instrument permet de détecter les neutrons dans le cadre de l'expérience canadienne Radi-N2. (Source : NASA)

Photo 15 - Chris Hadfield avec l'expérience Radi-N2

2013-01-18 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield présente les détecteurs de neutrons à bulles qu'il a déployés à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS) dans le cadre de l'expérience canadienne de mesure des radiations Radi-N2. (Source : NASA)

Photo 16 - À travers une bulle

2013-01-21 - Image de l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield telle que la renvoie une bulle flottant en apesanteur dans le module Unity de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA)

Photo 17 - Examen oculaire à bord de l'ISS

2013-01-21 - L'astronaute de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Tom Marshburn (à droite) procède à un examen tonométrique des yeux de l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield, dans le laboratoire Columbus de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA)

Photo 18 - Chris Hadfield travaille sur Biolab

2013-02-20 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield procède à un entretien de routine de Biolab, dans le laboratoire Columbus de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA)

Photo 19 - Chris Hadfield aux commandes de Canadarm2

2013-02-25 - Dans la coupole de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS), l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield passe en revue les commandes qui contrôlent le Canadarm2, le bras robotique qui, le 3 mars 2013, a saisit le véhicule Dragon de la société SpaceX. (Source : NASA)

Photo 20 - Chris Hadfield déballe Microflow

2013-03-07 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield déballe l'expérience canadienne Microflow, un outil d'analyse de sang et de liquides biologiques. (Source : ASC/NASA)

Photo 21 - La Saint-Patrick en orbite

2013-03-16 - Le commandant de la mission Expedition 35 Chris Hadfield a fière allure pour célébrer la Saint-Patrick à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : Agence spatiale canadienne/NASA)

Photo 22 - On relâche le Dragon

2013-03-26 - Baignant dans la lumière du Soleil, le Canadarm2 éloigne en toute sécurité le véhicule Dragon-2 de SpaceX qui s'apprête à partir. Le Dragon a amerri plus tard dans la journée dans l'océan Pacifique au large de la Californie. (Source : NASA)

Photo 23 - Orange spatiale

2013-03-30 - Après le ravitaillement de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS) par la capsule Soyouz TMA-08M, l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield se régale d'une orange sanguine, une collation rare en orbite. (Source : ASC/NASA)

Photo 24 - Les membres d'Expedition 35 à l'intérieur de Kibo

2013-04-06 - L'équipage de la mission Expedition 35 est réuni dans le laboratoire Kibo à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). À l'avant, de gauche à droite, le cosmonaute russe Pavel Vinogradov, l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield et le cosmonaute russe Aleksandr Misurkine. À l'arrière, les astronautes de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Tom Marshburn, Chris Cassidy et le cosmonaute Roman Romanenko. (Source : NASA)

Photo 25 - Chris Hadfield et l'expérience BP Reg

2013-04-17 - Le commandant de la mission Expedition 35 Chris Hadfield effectue la première ronde de l'expérience canadienne BP Reg. Il règle le système de la fonction pulmonaire (PFS) de l'installation de recherche sur l'humain (HRF). Puis, il enfile à son poignet et à ses jambes les brassards (LACS) du Cardiolab (CDL) dans le module de physiologie européen (EPM). Hadfield a été le premier de nombreux autres astronautes à prendre part à cette expérience. (Source : Agence spatiale canadienne/NASA)

Photo 26 - Réunion d'équipage

2013-04-21 - Une des rares photos montrant tous les membres de l'équipage de la mission Expedition 35 réunis dans le nœud Unity de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). À droite, on voit l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) et commandant d'Expedition 35. Dans le sens antihoraire à partir de lui, on aperçoit les astronautes de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Tom Marshburn et  Chris Cassidy ainsi que les cosmonautes russes Aleksandr Misurkine, Roman Romanenko et Pavel Vinogradov. (Source : NASA)

Photo 27 - Plombier de l'espace

2013-04-23 - Chris Hadfield remplace une valve de refroidissement à basse température dans le laboratoire Columbus de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : Agence spatiale canadienne/NASA)

Photo 28 - Autocollants de la mission Expedition

2013-05-13 - Selon une tradition à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS), après le transfert du commandement et avant le départ de l'équipage, on place les autocollants des missions respectives l'un à côté de l'autre dans le module Unity. Le commandant Pavel Vinogradov appose son écusson Expedition 36 à côté de celui d'Expedition 35 de l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield, mission au cours de laquelle il est devenu le premier commandant canadien de l'ISS. (Source : ASC/NASA)

Photo 29 - Parachutes déployés

2013-05-14 - Les parachutes de la capsule Soyouz TMA-07M, transportant l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield, l'astronaute de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Tom Marshburn et le cosmonaute Roman Romanenko, sont déployés en vue de l'atterrissage dans les steppes du Kazakhstan. (Source : NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photo 30 - L'arrivée au sol

2013-05-14 - La capsule Soyouz TMA-07M se pose, avec à son bord le commandant de la mission Expedition 35 Chris Hadfield de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC), l'astronaute de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Tom Marshburn et le commandant de la capsule Roman Romanenko de l'Agence Roscosmos, non loin de la ville de Dzhezkazgan, au Kazakhstan. (Source : NASA/Carla Cioffi)

Photo 31 - Atterrissage réussi!

2013-05-14 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) et commandant de la mission Expedition 35 Chris Hadfield est assis à côté du cosmonaute Roman Romanenko et de l'astronaute de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Tom Marshburn peu après leur retrait de la capsule Soyouz roussie, à l'extérieur de la ville de Dzhezkazgan, au Kazakhstan. Les trois hommes rentraient au bercail après une mission de cinq mois à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). (Source : NASA/Carla Cioffi)